Skip to content

Guide · 7 minute read

Why Black Pepper Extract Is Used With Curcumin

A formulation and label-reading guide to the companion ingredient you will find on most curcumin packs.

Written by Farhan Baig, founder of Zamzam Wellness Herbs

Published: 5 September 2026 · Last updated: 5 September 2026

Fresh turmeric root, turmeric powder in a bowl and black peppercorns on a light stone surface

Pick up almost any curcumin supplement in the UK and you will find a small amount of black pepper or black pepper extract listed beside the turmeric-derived ingredient. This guide explains the formulation and label context behind that pairing — what the different pepper descriptions mean, and how to compare them fairly between products.

First, the curcumin and turmeric relationship

Turmeric is the rhizome of Curcuma longa. It naturally contains a group of compounds called curcuminoids, of which curcumin is one. Turmeric powder and a concentrated curcumin-rich extract are compositionally different materials, and a percentage printed on a pack only means something once you know what it is describing.

Both points are covered in detail in our Curcumin vs Turmeric guide and our Curcumin 95 Explained guide.

Black pepper extract as a companion ingredient

Black pepper extract is one of the most common companion ingredients in curcumin formulations. It is typically present in a very small amount relative to the turmeric-derived ingredient — often a few milligrams against several hundred.

Its presence is a formulation convention rather than a headline ingredient. It is not there to increase the curcumin content of the product, and its inclusion tells you nothing on its own about the quality of the rest of the formula.

Whole black pepper, black pepper extract, piperine and BioPerine®

These four terms are used loosely in marketing, but they describe different things:

How whole black pepper, black pepper extract, piperine and BioPerine® differ
TermWhat it describes
Whole black pepperThe dried fruit of Piper nigrum — the culinary spice, unprocessed.
Black pepper extractA processed ingredient made from that source material. The description alone does not state a specification.
PiperineOne naturally occurring constituent found within black pepper, not a separate plant.
BioPerine®A specific branded black pepper extract, standardised by its manufacturer to a minimum of 95% piperine.

Our BioPerine® and black pepper extract ingredient guide is the reference page for these definitions; this article covers why the ingredient appears in curcumin formulas in the first place.

Why manufacturers include it in curcumin formulas

The formulation rationale is straightforward: piperine, the constituent that piperine-rich pepper extracts are standardised for, has been studied in relation to the bioavailability of curcumin. That body of research is why the combination became a formulation convention across the category.

It is important to be measured about what that means in practice. Research interest is not a promise of outcome: the presence of a pepper extract does not guarantee a particular absorption result for any specific product, dose or person, and we make no such claim for ours. The honest description is that black pepper extract is commonly included for this formulation rationale, and that the amount and specification are disclosed on the label so you can compare products yourself.

What to check on a label

  • Source and species — is Piper nigrum named, and is the plant part stated?
  • Extract or whole pepper — “black pepper” and “black pepper extract” are not interchangeable descriptions.
  • Piperine standardisation — is a percentage given, and does it refer to piperine content?
  • The actual milligram amount — a named ingredient with no amount next to it tells you very little.
  • Per capsule or per serving — amounts can only be compared on the same basis.
  • Branded ingredient name, if any — a branded extract such as BioPerine® identifies the supplier's specification; a generic description does not.

Our guide to reading a curcumin supplement label works through the same discipline across the whole ingredient panel, and Curcumin and Boswellia Explained covers the other ingredient commonly formulated alongside curcumin.

How Curcumin Supreme Trio is labelled

Our own Curcumin Supreme Trio label currently lists:

  • Curcumin 95% — 500 mg
  • Boswellia Serrata — 490 mg
  • BioPerine® / black pepper extract — 10 mg

The bottle contains 120 vegan capsules, and the label suggests 2 capsules daily, equivalent to 60 servings.

These are the amounts listed on the label. They are not stated per capsule unless separately confirmed, and we do not interpret “Curcumin 95% 500 mg” as meaning 500 mg of pure curcuminoids.

To see the full formulation, visit Curcumin Supreme Trio.

Safety note

Food supplements should not be used as a substitute for a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, taking medication, have a medical condition or are under medical supervision, seek appropriate professional advice before using food supplements.

Sources and further reading

About the author

Farhan Baig is the founder of Zamzam Wellness Herbs and oversees the brand and its educational content about the botanical ingredients used in its supplements. He is not a medical professional. This content is provided for general information only and is not medical advice.